Large Glass of Water

image

Numbers 33 NIV

http://www.biblegateway.com

33 Here are the stages in the journey of the Israelites when they came out of Egypt by divisions under the leadership of Moses and Aaron. At the Lord’s command Moses recorded the stages in their journey. This is their journey by stages:

50 On the plains of Moab by the Jordan across from Jerichothe Lord said to Moses, 51 “Speak to the Israelites and say to them: ‘When you cross the Jordan into Canaan, 52 drive out all the inhabitants of the land before you. Destroy all their carved images and their cast idols, and demolish all their high places. 53 Take possession of the land and settle in it, for I have given you the land to possess. 54 Distribute the land by lot, according to your clans. To a larger group give a larger inheritance, and to a smaller group a smaller one. Whatever falls to them by lot will be theirs. Distribute it according to your ancestral tribes.

55 “‘But if you do not drive out the inhabitants of the land, those you allow to remain will become barbs in your eyes and thorns in your sides. They will give you trouble in the land where you will live. 56 And then I will do to you what I plan to do to them.’”

The Israelite people have been traveling for over 40 years!  Yes, forty years. I have been on this earth for forty-four years and can’t imagine constantly moving, yet I follow in their footsteps. Constant motion, always questioning, and maybe unbelieving my path.

One sunny day I sat at my serene back patio listening to the birds chirping and feeling the warm sun on my face.  My husband stepped out to say, “Hey!”, but I turned and told him how thirsty I was due to the heat.  I said, “Can I have a large glass of water from the fridge?”  He smiled begrudgingly and walked back into the house.

Five minutes later (that was a long walk to the kitchen) he handed me a small kid cup half full with luck warm water from the faucet.  Did I not say, “Large glass with water from the fridge?”  Yes, this was done with a snappy tone.  He looked at me and chimed, “Be grateful you have the water and if you drink it I will get you more.”  He then closed the door quickly so not to hear my smart response.

Funny, but this is me with God.  How often do I hear him, roll around what He said, go into the kitchen maybe become distracted or just lazy and doubting His need, half remember what was said, make up what I can remember, and then give Him what’s left.  Here God… here is what you wanted.  Oh, that’s not what you wanted, well that’s what you get, and hope you like it as I run the other way.

The Israelites followed, but doubted God the whole time wondering if He could really deliver.   If they only believed, listened with dedication and determination, they would have been in the promised land a lot earlier soaking up all of God’s love.

Let’s listen, believe, and deliver God’s will.  Then we wouldn’t need to find words to cover up the mess we made.

Daniel 9:9

9 The Lord our God is merciful and forgiving, even though we have rebelled against him;

Leave a Reply

