NO!

nothanks

http://www.biblegateway.com

1 John 5:14 NIV

14 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.

James 4:3 NIV

When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

Numbers 36:6 NIV

This is what the Lord commands for Zelophehad’s daughters: They may marry anyone they please as long as they marry within their father’s tribal clan.

During the time of the wondering Israelites, God listened to Moses and answered.  The answer was to their question and concerns.  It was specific to the situation, the time period of current laws and expectations, and addressed God’s will for them.  It shows us that God hears us and responds.  The answer they received is not our answer. I’m sure if we had a similar question or concern today, the answer would be totally different.

It was a slow morning and my son was sitting on his floor looking at his drawers wondering if he would get dressed.  I walked in to inspire him to get ready so that we could get going with our day.  He looked distressed and I kindly asked him to get dressed.  He turned to me and said, ” I have a question, but I’m not going to ask it.”  I looked at him confused and then he said, “I’m not going to ask it because it will be the same answer I always get.  Why would it be any different today?”

This statement made me think of how I see my requests to God.  I keep asking, sometimes get a “No!” and then just give up defeated.  Does this mean I shouldn’t keep asking?

Everyday brings a new step in this walk of faith.  God wants us to move differently every second.  His answers will be different depending on the situation, time period, and what He has planned at that moment.

Psalm 18:30

As for God, his way is perfect:
    The Lord’s word is flawless;
    he shields all who take refuge in him.

Leave a Reply

