Digging Holes

image

1 John 2: 15-17 NIV

biblegateway.com

15 Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them. 16 For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. 17 The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever.

John wrote this letter to the Gentiles in his time because they were walking away from God and the belief in Jesus.  Modern views were entering the church and caused people to step away from the belief of Jesus and all that God had to offer.  John wanted all to know the love and light of God.

It has been a wonderful summer and I have gotten to enjoy many days on the beach.  My son loves to dig holes in the sand and fill them with water.  He usually digs holes near my chair, which is not near the water.  His frustration heightens when he runs to get water from the ocean in his bucket and fills the holes.  He watches in dismay while the water disappears.  “Where did it go?  Why won’t it stay?”  I usually shrug and tell him that sand will absorb the water quickly.

Just the other day he came to the realization that if he digs holes near the water ‘s edge, then he could have a hole of water.

This caused me to think about how I dig holes.  My holes have been people, places, things, and ideas which I depend on filling the missing places in my heart.  I at times pour all my water in a hole hoping the joy and fulfillment will come, but to no avail I end up empty.  I end up frustrated and at times confused.

When I walk closer to the living water and begin digging my holes there, I start to become filled and it stays.  The closer I walk to the water, the closer I am to God. Filled with His will for my life.

Hebrews 10:22

22 let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.

2 thoughts on “Digging Holes

  1. TessDoran says:

    Hi Faithful,
    Yes, I relate to this. The world tugs, but oh aren’t we lucky that He is near and we can get filled with Him. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

