Occupied by Distraction

zentangle-stylized-black-octopus-hand-drawn-illustration-isolated-white-background-sketch-tattoo-makhenda-sea-collection-54117552

James 1: 13-18

biblegateway.com

13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed. 15 Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

16 Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers and sisters. 17 Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. 18 He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of first fruits of all he created.

This was written by James, the brother of Jesus.  He was passionate about how to behave as a Christian and follower of Christ.  New believers Gentiles and Jews alike, were being written to in this letter. It seems they were extremely distracted by their own worldly views on what was acceptable practice.  James wrote to remind all of what God expects, not only in faith, but action.

As I sit here trying to get these words into formation, I am distracted.  Distracted by my daily to do list, my whining dog ready for a walk, appointments, my Twitter feed, my Facebook posts, plans in which I need to make, all the promises I have made, and my jittery overly caffeinated hands.  Normal.  Right?

Or is this something the god of this world has created?

This particular enemy of our souls loves to add it on.  The more thrown at me, the more he wins.  Can I control it or is it controlling me?

I think when God starts trying to get through, I may be saying, “Sorry, can’t talk right now.”

In James’s letter it specifically speaks of temptation not being birthed by God.  No, this distraction is something that my earthly self wants and starts to desire with passion.  I thrive on busy.  I begin to need distraction to fill my time.  Then just when I think I can multitask and worship the King of the World, the enemy smiles and brings me to sin.

We can not serve both.  Our flesh will guide us to our ultimate demise.  We need to stay in the word, be connected to other believers, act within God’s laws out of praise, and when all else fails; drop to our knees and pray.

Galatians 5:16

16 So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. 17 For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whatever you want.

Follow on Twitter

Denise @faithwalkin

 

2 thoughts on “Occupied by Distraction

  1. Elizabeth Anna says:

    This is why it is so important to be in a study, and in worship, with other believers. My pastor once said that life can be like a bowling game, with the fellow believers being the “bumpers,” helping to keep you on the straight and narrow.

    “And let us not stop encouraging one another, especially as the day approaches.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

