Chasing the Gold

gold medal

1 Corinthians 9: 24-27

biblegateway.com

24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

The church in Corinth, an ancient Greek city was desperate for answers, and apostle Paul was whom they sought.  He had visited them during his travels, but now was unavailable so he wrote them letters.  In these letters he answered questions.  Possibly one like; “How do we as city dwellers in a progressive atmosphere continue to live out our lives believing Christ?”  This is similar to one you may have.

Today’s expectations lead to tomorrow’s disappointments.

Paul had expectations of the newly founded churches and Corinth tested all of those expectations.  I am sure as he read their letter of confusion, he was overly disappointed in their behavior.  How could they not see that Jesus was what they needed to accept and not the expectations of the world.

Do we have expectations of ourselves and others that meet the world’s standards or God’s?

Often, I find myself expecting a lot out of my day.  I expect my house to maintain its cleanliness and my family to meet my needs.  Well, it sounds good, but as the day ends and morning comes, my disappointments are always there to say, “Good morning!”

We are all looking for something to make us whole, fulfilled, and at peace.  It’s that moment in time where you want to say, “All is well.”  Yet, no matter how much you reach for it, its always just out of grasp.

Today’s disappointments lead to tomorrow’s expectations.

2 Corinthians 7:10  10 Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.

When the morning comes, and you count all the disappointments that were not met, new expectations are created.  My son will do better, my husband will be more loving, my family will accept me, and I will be able to reach my goal.  Our hands outstretched our eyes teary, we keep reaching, but the world won’t allow the us to hold the gold.

The cycle continues.

Yet, our race and prize is in our salvation.  The world will cause us undo pain and suffering, but our King of Kings, Lord of Lords will satisfied our souls and provide us with the gold.  It is inscribed ‘I am Yours’.  It is for anyone to wear.  For He so loves the world.

Romans 5: 3-5

Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

image
Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Leave a Reply

