Convicted

Gavel2

Matthew 7: 1-5

biblegateway.com

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

This was taken from Jesus’s Sermon on the Mount.  It is where Jesus tells his disciples the rules in which they should live by to walk with God.  It is not based on action, but more on attitude.  The attitude they should have as they serve.  A Godly heart in a very ungodly world.  But, are we not free to live a happy life and not be controlled by ancient rules handed down?

Growing up I always wanted to be a good person.  My goal was to follow the rules given by teachers and the adults so that I would be accepted by those I found important.  It wasn’t such a popular decision.  Let’s just say words like “Do Good-er” and “Goodie, Goodie” were often used to describe who I decided to become.  

In choosing this way of life, I also found my self judging everyone whom came across my path.  I would often question their actions and establish myself as superior.  How could they act and talk like that?  Why would they make that stupid decision?  

Unfortunately, I am convicted.  Convicted of a sin and walk among all other sinners. Who am I to judge the actions and the decisions of others?  To judge is a sin.  Only our Savior gets to have that job.

James 4:12 There is only one Lawgiver and Judge, the one who is able to save and destroy. But you—who are you to judge your neighbor?

Our job is to love our neighbor, walk among the sinners and set men and women free, forgive, and pray for all.  We do this not because we are told to like a child being reprimanded.    We do this to honor and respect the great King of Kings who by His grace and mercy forgives us everyday.  If it wasn’t for Jesus, we would all be condemned and have to work for our salvation.  Once Christ spilled his blood and died, we were made clean.  Through our faith and devotion to Him, we get to be forgiven of all sin.   Because we love the one that loves us, we decide to follow His ways.  

I walk with Him not because I want to please Him, I walk with Him because I want to say, “I love you too”  in all that I do.

1 John 4:19 We love because he first loved us.

2 Timothy 1:9 He has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time,

image
Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Leave a Reply

