Release Me

helping-hand

Inspired by the song by Nichole Nordeman; Album The Unmaking; Song “Slow Down”

Isaiah 41:13

biblegateway.com

For I am the Lord your God
    who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
    I will help you.

You and I, and me and you.  We walk along life’s path hand in hand.  In times of fear, nervousness, and excitement you’d grasp my hand knowing I would guide you through. Sometimes we’d place you in the middle, and swing you over cracks in the pavement while you shouted, “Wee!”

My sweet child where has the time gone?  How I love being by your side.  You are aging and my time holding your hand is wavering.  You barely reach for me anymore.

How do I let go of the most important and beautiful person created?  Oh, how do I say “Good bye”?

Tears sting my eyes as you begin to unravel your fingers from mine.  You begin to cry, “Mommy, release me.”

I let go, knowing this is where I end and you begin.

I watch as you walk away forward looking, and only taking a moment to glance behind.

Who will take my place Lord?  Will you be there by his side?

I begin to feel a hand wipe the tears from my face, and a soft kiss on my cheek.  “Is that you Lord?”

The clarity of my answer comes into view.  I see my child walking ahead and you right there. You gingerly put your hand by his side, just touching it softly.  He feels it and takes his palm in yours in the coming darkness.  I breath again and continue down a different path still feeling your warm touch.

Oh, how you love us.  I won’t worry or fret.  You have us in the palm of your hand.  This is now his walk with you Lord.  Until we meet again seated at the right hand of our father.

My love, I release you to a good, good father.  Who is and will always be our resting place.

“I know the plans I have for you”, says the Lord, and they will be nothing but spectacular.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Ephesians 2:10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

image
Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/

 

2 thoughts on “Release Me

  1. Dawn Bennett says:

    Wow this is beautiful. My daughter is beginning her senior year of high school in September. I have been thinking along these lines lately. The past few years have flown by so quickly and now here we are, so close to releasing her to experience life. It’s so hard to think about letting her go. Thank you for this 💟

    Like

    • faithfulwalkinprogress says:

      I’m so touched that my words were read by someone who needed to hear them. I love how God uses us to hold on to each other in Him. Prayers of peace to you and guidance for your child. ❤️ Denise

      Like

Leave a Reply

