Spiritual Instinct

baby-sea-turtles

Matthew 26: 36-38 NIV

Biblegateway.com

36 Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” 37 He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled. 38 Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.”

39 Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed,“My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

I recently had the privilege to witness the extraordinary plight of the baby Leatherback Sea Turtle.  It begins when the adult turtle lays eggs in the sand close to the dunes and then covers up the production.  The eggs take months to hatch and when the temperature is right, they begin to pip or hatch.  Each small turtle moves its flippers to push the sand downward so that they begin to rise to the top.  Now the boil can begin.

Slowly they work as a team and when the cool sand of the night sky meets their awaited expectations, they thrash about heading for the horizon of the shimmering ocean.  Each one takes their own path pushing forward towards the vast ocean.  Some make it encountering predators and possible debris, and some veer off due to disorientation.  This occurs when another light source shines from a different direction.  One or two out of the fifty may follow this new source and never make it to their home in the sea.

Jesus knew his time was near.  He prepared his disciples and his own heart.  Just before the time he was to be taken in and persecuted, he stepped away to pray.  His prayer wrought with pain and sorrow, shows how human this man we call a savior lived.  His path was clear, his destiny set, and now it was time.  I can only imagine that his will would of had him turning from the excruciating crucifixion to a lesser end.  Turning away from the light of God’s greatness and following the path of an artificial source created by man.

We are all destined to join Him at His side in heaven.  Some will follow their instincts and go to Him.  Others will fall behind following a different path leading to their demise feeling lost and disoriented.

Our lives are so full and rich when allow ourselves to seek our destined home.  This walk will have tribulations and detours, yet the reward is the home of our God which will take away all our pain and suffering.

Follow your spiritual instincts in the darkness, seeking the true light, and bask in His never ending love.

Psalm 27: 1-5 NIV

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
    whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
    of whom shall I be afraid?

When the wicked advance against me
    to devour me,
it is my enemies and my foes
    who will stumble and fall.
Though an army besiege me,
    my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
    even then I will be confident.

One thing I ask from the Lord,
    this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
    all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
    and to seek him in his temple.
For in the day of trouble
    he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent
    and set me high upon a rock.

image
Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/
Share this with friends and help spread God’s word.
Leave a Reply

