Brokenhearted Love

 

Isaiah 53: 3-7

Biblegateway.com

He was despised and rejected by mankind,
    a man of suffering, and familiar with pain.
Like one from whom people hide their faces
    he was despised, and we held him in low esteem.

Surely he took up our pain
    and bore our suffering,
yet we considered him punished by God,
    stricken by him, and afflicted.
But he was pierced for our transgressions,
    he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
    and by his wounds we are healed.
We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
    each of us has turned to our own way;
and the Lord has laid on him
    the iniquity of us all.

He was oppressed and afflicted,
    yet he did not open his mouth;
he was led like a lamb to the slaughter,
    and as a sheep before its shearers is silent,
    so he did not open his mouth.

My heart at times becomes shattered.  It can be caused by people, circumstances, unmet needs and expectations.  I crave to have a full heart.  A heart that doesn’t have scares or empty places.  When I was younger, my heart was filled by excitement and the anticipation of an event.  It would also become filled when my parents and family showed their love by making me feel important.  As an adult, this filling isn’t as easy as I would like.  My husband, son, friends, family, and even complete strangers are expected to help me accomplish this full heart.  Instead, they continue to cause small cracks and at times open old wounds that I have tucked away. 

As I sit and connect with Jesus, I realize that I am putting too much emphasis on my human experience.  He wants me to realize that only He can fill, mend, and extinguish the burning desires of my heart.

John 3:30  He must become greater; I must become less.

All my desires are self-centered and lacking the true graciousness of Jesus, one who humbled himself to serve.  He sacrificed His life to forgive mine.  I am saved through His selfless act of love.  

I must put my wants, needs, and desires to rest.  I need to put Him first.  This is when our broken hearts can truly love.

Submit,  listen, pray, walk with Him, and our hearts will never ache again.  When our hearts are full of His love, His gentle hands will wipe the scares and fill the voids.  It will be fully healed.

Now we can serve as He served.  

Matthew 22: 37-39 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

1 John 4:10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.

Our sins are washed away when we surrender to His love.  We will then be capable of loving others and our sacrifice will create a closeness to Him which defies explanation. 

Our life is to love, our purpose is to love, and our commandment is love.

 Ephesians 3: 16-17 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love

image
Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/

Leave a Reply

