Haters

hand

Mark 13:13 NIV Everyone will hate you because of me, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved.

John 15: 18-19 NIV “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. 19 If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.

Biblegateway.com

One of my greatest fears growing up was being hated by others.  I strove to adapt and hide so that I would either be liked or just invisible.  I knew what I would compromise on, and what made me feel extremely uncomfortable. But, the world is a scary place which could turn on a dime.

I continue to deal with the need for acceptance, but as I age and grow in God’s word I am able to say, “Enough”.

Jesus was the ultimate outsider who just lived the way God told him to live.  He didn’t change, succumb to peer pressure, or hide when things turned.  No, He embraced the discord.  

His words tell us that if the world hates you, well then you are doing something right.  

In the past year, I have developed a stance against the popular culture.  I am no longer listening to songs or watching TV/ movies which go against my faith and morals.  This sounds grand, but it is nearly impossible.  I alone can not guard myself from the world.

Philippians 4:13 NIV  I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Through prayer and guidance in moments of stillness, I am capable of deciphering what to pull away from.  But, others don’t understand why I would draw a hard line to what is seen as pleasing in the world.

Life is to be lived to pull others towards a life pleasing to God.  Life isn’t to be lived to be praised by the world.  You can only serve one master.

2 Corinthians 4:4 NIV The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel that displays the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

As we go through our day to day, we may not even notice how many are blind to the ways of the gospel.  Yet, look close enough and you will realize how the slightest situation, decision, and/or conversation teeters on blatant sin.

The only way to live a life of full joy, blessings, and salvation is to turn the other direction and embrace what Jesus accepted as righteousness.  The word righteous is not to be used negatively, but it should be used to understand that we as Christian’s have a duty to stand for what is right.  

Stand for grace.

Stand for love and respect.

Stand for truth and honesty.

Stand for brothers and sisters.

Stand for serving.

Stand with Jesus accepting His sacrifice for our freedom.

His ways are not our ways.  

Matthew 10:22 NIV You will be hated by everyone because of me, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved.

Walk closely to His word , and know you will have those who don’t understand, or may even push you away because what you exude is distasteful.  

Yet, we still love.

Proverbs 25:21 NIV If your enemy is hungry, give him food to eat; if he is thirsty, give him water to drink.

As we are pushed away, our life should be a light.  A constant reminder that even when our enemies detest our ways, we continue to offer them the love of Christ.  Feed them and clothe them in a peace that transcends understanding.

Then we with the power of the spirit, can turn haters into followers.

2 Corinthians 2: 14 NIV But thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere.

image
Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/

 

 

Leave a Reply

