Serve Where You Are

serving-hands

In Memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

James 2: 14-17 NIV  What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? 15 If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? 17 So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.

Biblegateway.com

I have struggled with the concept for years on how to serve in relationship to my faith, and through the daily pull life has on my day to day.  I hear God’s words and watch other’s examples, and always feel as though I don’t quite measure up.

I could feed the hungry, clothe the poor, and give comfort to the broken.  I know that this is what Jesus exemplified in His walk towards our salvation.  This is what God wants from us to further His kingdom. But, how can I offer this up in my own world?

Sometimes I think my job may be considered service to others, but I do get paid.

Sometimes I think my kindness to friends and loved ones is service, but I do get kindness in return.

Sometimes I think just making nightly dinner is service, and often goes unnoticed.  

All these count, right?

1 Peter 4:10 NIV  Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.

God has gifted each of us with a life that is very unique, and designed to be for His glory.

My home, job, family, and path were prepared before I was created.  As I go live out the life I was given, I will have tribulations and blessings.  These blessings are not to be hoarded, but shared with the masses.  

How do I share my offering to the world?  

Galatians 5: 13-14 For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. 14 For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

“love your neighbor as yourself”, says the Lord.  This seems at times complicated.  My heart needs to be ready, grace needs to be given, and letting go of hurts needs to be wrapped in forgiveness.  I need to love myself, love all others, and then my service will be ready.

Once I am ready, I can then start exactly where I am.

Our service first starts in our homes.  We need to look at our children, husbands, and wives as ourselves.  Take their needs and meet them tenderly to show God’s love.  This begins the foundation of service.

Next, we need to spread the love and serving at our jobs and activities.  Showing His light and ways to our small world.  Yet, this is the service that is often overlooked.

The goal of giving what has been received, is to grow the kingdom of God.  He wants all of us.  Not just a select few.

Every person we encounter is within His sights as chosen and worthy.  When we set our mission aside, and take on His ways, we have accomplished praising and pleasing Him.

Grab the gospel, seek out quiet whispers of guidance, love, speak carefully with grace, and begin serving in the midst of your crazy life.

We serve not to become served, but to grow the kingdom to take back what is rightfully His. Our world depends on each of us to carry this to the day we meet our good father again.
1 Peter 4: 10-11 Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. 11 If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

image
Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/

 

 

Leave a Reply

