Love Is

string_art_heart_15072823321

1 Corinthians 13:4-13 (NIV)

Biblegateway.com

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears.11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror;then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

The never-ending love story.  The love of our lives.  The love that will see us through.  The love we feel for others.  The love of the game.

Our world strives to acquire this love and it often rests upon how we “feel”.  I know I have been there too many times to count, looking for it under every nook and cranny.  I sought after people, places, and things.  It came on strong and then withered away.  When the emptiness sank in my soul, and the darkness fell, I would try to feel my way through the darkness.  How often do we do this to survive?  

In this darkness feelings rule.  Hurt.  Offended.  Appreciated.  Justified.  

Each feeling leads to another.  An endless circle of chasing what feels right and good.  I have been caught in this unending cycle.  I have been hurt and then tried to seek out appreciation.  I have been taken advantage of and then sought after power.  I have been offended and then dedicated myself to being helpful and righteous.   

A constant wall would stop progress, and my tired weary hands feeling for a crack or gap to navigate around.  This is not how to find the love we all seek.

When light comes in to the darkness, the only love we need is God’s.  He shows us the paths and warms us through His spirit.

Love is not a feeling, it’s a commitment to walking in this light.  Taking His steps, doing things His way.

Loving when it’s hard… to stand.  Loving when it’s easy… to walk away.  

Loving when it hurts and refuses to reciprocate.  Loving when it’s dull and exhausted.  

1 John 3:16  This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.

We should love without strings attached.  Often times we want something before we give something.  Jesus gave it freely and so should we.  Love your spouse, Love your child, Love your neighbor, and Love yourself with this lens.  

His truth in His word cuts the strings and allows us to know this true love.  A love that endures All things and Never ends.  

1 Corinthians 13 4-7  Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

image

Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/

 

Leave a Reply

