Hide and Seek

child-hiding-behind-tree

Jeremiah 29:13 NIV

Biblegateway.com

13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Playing a simple game like hide and seek.  I’ll hide Lord and you can seek me.  Count to 10 and then call, “Ready or Not, here I come!”   

Simply find me since today I have to hide.  I will hide from others, hide from myself, hide from my path, and hide from you for just a bit.  I will be hiding from my sin just like Adam and Eve.  I’ll come out when you call.

As time goes on Lord, I don’t hear you. Are you still there?

Psalm 88:14 Why, Lord, do you reject me and hide your face from me?

There are days in which I just want to retreat into my own world.  I want the comfort of my home.  Stepping out into the world just seems exhausting and frustrating.  I need to keep myself safe.  This is where I can be me, all messy and content being alone.

Unfortunately, I want to hide but I have to chose to seek.  I need to recognize that even if I take cover, the Lord sees and knows all. I need to seek Him with an open heart for His merciful love.  His love is never-ending, yet mine is undependable to say the least. 

The outcome of my commitment to push through this need to escape is knowing that the close relationship with my good father outweighs the discomfort.  The discomfort I ultimately want to avoid is the thought of dealing with the world.  Oh, how painful it is being a Christian in a broken world. The pull, the heartache, the chaos, and the temptation. It takes its toll on us and disconnects us from hearing God’s whispers when we listen to its shouts.  

What do we do?  Do we find an out?

Luke 5:15-16

15 Yet the news about him spread all the more, so that crowds of people came to hear him and to be healed of their sicknesses. 16 But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.

When Jesus felt the pressure of His duty, he sought refuge with His father.  He went and prayed. Our duty is to go into the world, heal the sick, bring food to the hungry, and offer the love we have received.  If it becomes overwhelming, the answer lies here.  Just pray.

My prayer life picks up when I see a need.  I often pray for answers.  Yet, do I pray before, after, and during my interactions in the world?  This is where my relationship needs some repair.  I hide, but He stands waiting for me to seek Him for everything.

Not only do I need to increase the prayers, but I also need to understand what His expectations are of me in this world.  

Matthew 25 31-40

31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne. 32 All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

In this we learn that our responsibility is to take care of the Lord’s people.  Not just the people who surround us and are like us. It is the hungry, thirsty, and the complete stranger.  It’s the person who makes us uncomfortable.  It’s the person who seems beyond redemption.  It’s the person who we may even fear.  But, the power of the spirit comes when we meet the needs of the “least of these”.  This is looking into the eyes of another and seeing your brother, sister, mother, father, and child.  You feel their pain and empathize towards their trial.  You love them as our Lord loves us.  When they see this type of grace, our father knows we are appreciative of His love.  He knows we are committed to the relationship.  This is when we feel a connection beyond words.  It is a feeling of complete joy wrapped in an understanding of how we can bring heaven to earth.

When the world says, “I am beyond restoration!  Leave me to my sin.”  We return it with, “I love you anyway.”

Luke 8:16

16 “No one lights a lamp and hides it in a clay jar or puts it under a bed. Instead, they put it on a stand, so that those who come in can see the light.

image

Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/

 

 

Leave a Reply

