Greener Pastures

open-bible-man-walking1sm

Deuteronomy 4: 29 But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.

Biblegateway.com

Our lives as Christians are a room without a roof.  Open to the possibilities, blessings, and guidance from above.  Yet, this room has doors.  Each door leads to the outside world .  A door to obtain entertainment, people, places, and things.  Free will allows us to exit and enter at any time.  We can even chose to live outside or bring items into the room.

Luke 12:30 For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them.

I have sat in this roofless room many times and felt, let’s just say dissatisfied.  I have been impatient when I have had unanswered prayers.  Frustration has caused me to see the greener grass that peeks so slightly from the doors.  My insatiable need for adventure has made me open a door or two.  There has even been times when I am on my knees pleading for answers and all I have received is silence.

The walls seem confining.  The world seems inviting.  So, I go.

I have ventured out seeking to find what will fill the emptiness I have felt as I impatiently waited.

Matthew 16:26 What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?

At times I go fishing.  Throw out the hook and hope to real in something.  It haphazardly brings something back and I can stand a distance from the world so not to become sucked into the muck.  This approach keeps my morals and values intact.  I find this the safest way to seek but not the most fulfilling.

Other times I go out and set some traps.  This causes me to mix and mingle in the world a bit closer and lay something out and hope what I need and want walks into my trap.  Unfortunately, I have to set aside my morals and values during this passive aggressive process but can pick them up later when I get what I want.

In desperate moments I have resorted to force.  Aggressively tracking down the want and claiming it without its consent.  My want may be met, but  I will loose myself in this method.  It is harder to come back into the room since guilt settles in the place of values.

Bags are filled and I drag the items into my Christian quarters.  It piles up and soon the roofless room is closed up not allowing any light to penetrate.  Panic and suffocation fill my lungs and the only way to breathe comes from opening up a door.  It all becomes too much, too busy and desperation falls just to find that one thing that will shed light on the situation.

Darkness rolls in like a dense fog.  Oh, God where are you?

Nothing works.  Breathlessly grasping each item shaking it to produce light.  On my hands and knees out of the corner of my eye I spot a warm glow.  I move things aside and gently brush off the dust from a soft leather cover.  I open it hesitantly and rays of light fill parts of the room.  As I gaze upon the words of the Bible and decipher the ancient script,  a beam of light hits a specific item in the room yet allowing me to see all the clutter that fills my existence.

John 11:9 Jesus answered, “Are there not twelve hours of daylight? Anyone who walks in the daytime will not stumble, for they see by this world’s light.

Our God and Lord wants to rid of us of our “stuff”.  Each thing that separates us will be brought to the forefront.  As we stay wholeheartedly in the word and His guidance, we will be able to stand tall and open the door to rid ourselves of these things.  The roof will open and God will supply all the necessities we need one by one.  If our heart is dedicated and pure to His ways, we shall be full and complete.  Our lives will be filled with joy and unending peace.  No more traps and hunting.  If we deny, he will provide.  Let go of the “I want” and embrace the “I release”.

John 6: 51 I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.

image

Follow me on Twitter; Denise@faithfulwalkin
Follow me on Facebook; www.facebook.com/faithfulwalkin/
Leave a Reply

